Unconscious heroism

During my flirtation with LSD, many of my adventures were in the West End of London.
Most, although mind blowing at the time, are disappointing in the telling. Like the time a friend and I decided to rescue what we thought was a stray dog. We followed it through the streets of Soho to eventually be confronted by its owner, “Why are you stalking me?” Whoops! We hadn’t noticed the dog was in fact being walked.
So I am not exactly a reliable witness in the story that follows.

My then partner and I dropped acid and went playing in Hyde Park. He rarely tripped with me, being much older and claiming, at least, to be much wiser. I can’t remember many details of how the trip started. I do remember us doing rolly-poly down a grass verge and landing head first in a cluster of magic mushrooms. Without moving my body, I grazed at them like a cow. It felt like they were there just for us.
We also played on the swings with women in burkas who could not stop giggling, till their minders came along and warned us off. It was like a game of cat and mouse. The girls wanted to play, but were not allowed to. We could only just see their eyes, but they were very expressive.
So it was a magical day – till something went very wrong. It was as if time froze and a wave of icy panic passed through everyone in the park. Indeed all the people seemed paralysed, standing still and gaping. We, though, were running straight towards the disturbance in the the force.
Now here is the significant part of the story – we didn’t stop to think, or indeed think at all, we just spontaneously acted.
Ahead of us people were screaming; a horse, still with its rider at first, had been spooked and was bolting through the traffic. Cars were swerving, people were panicking, but nobody was doing anything to help.
As we got closer, the rider fell, or was flung from the horse and hit a car. My partner rushed to her aid while I run through the traffic after the horse. Somehow I caught up, grabbed its reins and led it over to the pavement. Though I had ridden horses before, I was far from experienced with them. But here I was playing horse whisperer.
I led it back down the pavement to where my partner was holding its unconscious rider.
Slowly the gravity of the situation hit me. The people around us had broken out of their paralysis and were all watching the show. And I remembered I was tripping out of my tiny mind. But I held back the panic, still holding on to the horse.
In minutes, or it could have been hours, police and paramedics were on the scene. Though the partner was relieved from his task, no one was helping me. A policemen approached me and said I would need to give a statement. My sense of panic escalated. But I managed some mind magic, I said, “No, you take this horse, I’m supposed to be somewhere else.”
He tried to resist, but my will power was stronger than his, so he took the reins and I legged it back into the park with my bf running close behind. When he caught up, I laughed nervously. He, on the other hand, had a total break down. He dived to the ground, curled up in a ball and started howling like it was the worst thing that had ever happened. I managed to bring him back, but later that evening, I paid the price. He was to start a behaviour that was both abusive and degrading – but that’s another story.
So what happened? I won’t dress it up with proofs or detailed explanations. Quite simply, a bigger group mind took over and did what it had to do. With our minds blown open by the drug, we were its most convenient puppets.

Leave a Reply

